Inria unveils its recommendations for the digital transformation of education

Date:
Changed on 04/11/2020
As part of the General Assemblies on the use of Digital Technology in Education (États généraux du numérique pour l’éducation), set to be held on 4 and 5 November 2020 in Poitiers, Inria has published seven proposals on the event’s participative platform for ways in which digital technology could improve education. These proposals are outlined in more detail in “Education and Digital Technology: The Challenges”, a white paper set to be published by the Institute in late November.
Enfants utilisant une tablette tactile
© Inria / Photo J. Larlet

 

Back in June, Jean-Michel Blanquer, the French Minister for Education, Youth and Sport, launched a consultation in preparation for the General Assemblies on the use of Digital Technology in Education, which are set to be held on 4 and 5 November 2020 in Poitiers.

With the health crisis highlighting the biggest problems facing the sector (the digital divide, a lack of resources for teachers, digital ethics, etc.), the aim was to give a platform to everyone affected by the issue of digital transformation in education, allowing them to express their expectations, suggest new practices or innovations, or simply share their experiences.

Seven proposals to meet the biggest challenges surrounding the use of digital technology in education

In response to this call for contributions, Inria published seven proposals for the digital transformation of education on the event’s participative platform :

  1. Develop research projects in the digital sciences aimed at boosting academic attainment
  2. Develop rigorous methodologies for evaluating digital technology in education
  3. Expand training in digital technology for teachers
  4. Move towards a “People’s University for Digital Technology” for educating the general public on the subject
  5. Create the right conditions for developing and updating digital and educational resources as common assets
  6. Ensure the transferability of personal educational data and to develop the interoperability of software solutions          
  7. Create an EdTech observatory

Although some of these proposals may have a broader scope, others are targeted more specifically at stakeholders in the education sector, whether teachers, decision-makers, the media, EdTech companies or families.

A white paper to support a more comprehensive examination of the subject

All of these proposals are taken from the recommendations for the digital transformation of education outlined by the institute in the white paper “Education and Digital Technology : The Challenges”, which is set for its official launch in late November 2020.

Work first began on this 80-page document in mid-2019, and it is divided into five sections: assessing the impact of digital technology on the education sector; identifying the challenges facing the sector; presenting research subjects linked to the use of digital technology in education; analysing the challenges facing the sector in France; and outlining seven recommendations for the digital transformation of education.

Digital technology in education: a key focus for Inria

This initiative is very much in keeping with the institute’s desire to strengthen its position on the key societal issue of education through digital technology and education in digital technology. As a public body dealing with research into digital science and technology, Inria has been engaged with the issue of the digital transformation of education for years, through a range of actions linked to education in digital technology: MOOCs dedicated to educating teachers about digital technology (SNT, ICN, etc.), outreach initiatives aimed at bridging the gap between digital science and the wider public, and the deployment of successful projects (such as Class’Code or “1 scientist, one class: No problem! ”). This is not to mention the multiple Inria project teams that have engaged with the subject, most notably Flowers, a joint undertaking with the ENSTA. 

A strategic commitment to promoting digital sovereignty in France

These actions and projects echo some of the targets outlined in Inria’s performance agreement, particularly the scientific component linked to lifelong learning, and the outreach component, strengthening ties with the national educational authorities in France. More broadly, Inria’s engagement in this area is geared towards protecting France’s digital sovereignty.

Transformation numérique de l’éducation : Inria dévoile ses recommandations

Date:
Mis à jour le 04/11/2020
Dans le cadre des États généraux du numérique pour l'éducation, qui se tiennent les 4 et 5 novembre 2020 à Poitiers, Inria a publié sur la plate-forme participative sept propositions pour mettre le numérique au service de l’éducation. Des propositions à retrouver plus en détail sous forme de recommandations dans le livre blanc « Education et numérique : défis et enjeux » de l’institut, qui sera dévoilé fin novembre.
Enfants utilisant une tablette tactile
© Inria / Photo J. Larlet

 

En juin dernier, Jean-Michel Blanquer, ministre de l’Éducation nationale, de la Jeunesse et des Sports lançait une démarche de consultation afin de préparer l’organisation des États généraux du numérique pour l’Éducation, organisés les 4 et 5 novembre 2020 à Poitiers.

Son objectif : donner voix au chapitre à l’ensemble des personnes concernées par le sujet de la transformation numérique de l’éducation, dans un contexte de crise sanitaire qui a mis en exergue les plus importantes problématiques du secteur (fracture numérique, manque de moyens pour les enseignants, éthique du numérique, etc.), afin qu'elles puissent exprimer leurs attentes, proposer de nouvelles pratiques ou innovations, ou simplement faire part de leur expérience.

Sept propositions pour répondre aux grands défis du numérique pour l’éducation

Un appel à contribution auquel a répondu Inria, en publiant sur la plate-forme participative des États généraux du numérique sept propositions pour une transformation numérique de l’éducation :

  1. Développer des projets de recherche des sciences du numérique au service de la réussite scolaire ;
  2. Développer des méthodologies rigoureuses pour l'évaluation du numérique éducatif ;
  3. Passer à l’échelle dans la formation au numérique des enseignants ;
  4. Vers une « université citoyenne et populaire du numérique » apte à assurer la formation pour tous et pour toutes au numérique ;
  5. Créer les conditions du développement et de la mise à jour de ressources éducatives numériques comme des biens communs ;
  6. Garantir la portabilité des données personnelles éducatives et développer l'interopérabilité des solutions logicielles ;
  7. Créer un observatoire des EdTechs.

Si certaines de ces propositions ont une portée générale, d’autres visent plus particulièrement des acteurs de l’éducation, comme les enseignants, les décideurs, les médias, les entreprises EdTechs, ou encore les familles.

Un livre blanc pour accompagner une réflexion plus globale sur le sujet

Toutes sont tirées des recommandations pour la transformation numérique de l’éducation, rédigées par l’institut dans le cadre d’un livre blanc « Education et Numérique : enjeux et défis », dont la publication fera officiellement l'objet d'une communication spécifique fin novembre 2020.

Ce document de 80 pages, dont la rédaction a été amorcée mi-2019, est organisé en cinq volets :

  • état des lieux de l’impact du numérique sur le secteur de l’éducation ; 
  • identification des défis du secteur ;
  • présentation des sujets de recherche liés au domaine de l’éducation au numérique ;
  • analyse des enjeux français dans le domaine ;
  • et enfin mise en avant de sept recommandations pour la transformation numérique de l’éducation.

Numérique pour l’éducation : un engagement fort d’Inria

Une démarche qui s’inscrit dans une véritable volonté de l’institut de renforcer son positionnement sur ce sujet sociétal de l’éducation au et par le numérique.

La transformation numérique de l’éducation est en effet un sujet sur lequel Inria, en tant qu’établissement public de recherche en sciences et technologies du numérique, est impliqué depuis de nombreuses années à travers de nombreuses actions liées à l’éducation au numérique : création de MOOCs dédiés à la formation au numérique des enseignants (SNT, ICN, …), actions de médiation  pour faire le pont entre sciences du numérique et grand public, déploiement de projets à succès (à l’image de Class’Code et « 1 scientifique, une classe : Chiche ! ») ou encore implication de plusieurs équipes-projets Inria autour du sujet, dont la plus emblématique est Flowers, équipe-projet commune avec l’ENSTA. 

Un engagement stratégique pour renforcer la souveraineté numérique de la France

Des actions et projets, qui font écho à certains objectifs énoncés dans le COP d’Inria, notamment sur le volet scientifique avec l’apprentissage tout au long de la vie, et sur le volet médiation, en renforcement des liens avec l’Éducation nationale. Plus globalement, l’implication d’Inria dans ce domaine sert l’enjeu de la souveraineté numérique de la France.